Deutsch Français English

Beat P. Truffer

Certified hiking guide, author and economist

Beat P. Truffer

Beat P. Truffer was born on 03.08.1965 and grew up in Zermatt. He attended Latin grammar school in Central Switzerland (Sarnen and Beromünster) and graduated with a degree in economics in German and French from the University of Fribourg (Switzerland), majoring in marketing and business management. He spent his professional career with several insurance companies in various functions at management level, including 20 years at director level. Today, he is a senior expert in digitalisation and transformation, a data protection manager and member of a pension fund Foundation Board.

Beat P. Truffer is a successful book author from Zermatt. He has published a book of poems, 5 books about Zermatt (3 historical, 2 illustrated) and a DVD. Some of his books have been translated into several languages (English, French, Italian, Spanish, Japanese, Korean). His best-selling book "The History of the Matterhorn" is already available in the 7th (English edition) and 6th edition (German edition).

Beat P. Truffer

Beat P. Truffer is married and father of 2 daughters. He lives in Adliswil, Susten and Zermatt. The passionate mountaineer has climbed 73 different four-thousand-metre peaks and 2 five-thousand-metre peaks, including all four-thousand-metre peaks in Switzerland. He trained as a hiking guide with the Swiss Mountain Guide Association (SBV), which he completed with a federal certificate. In addition, he is accredited for T4 hikes (blue-white marked alpine hikes), is a member of the Union of International Mountain Leader Associations (UIMLA), as well as the Swiss Alpine Club (SAC) and is a board member of the Swiss Hiking Leader Association (SWL/ASAM).


His hobbies are nature, photography, mineralogy, computers, skiing, mountaineering and hiking. His great-grandfather Fridolin Kronig (1857 - 1925) was one of Edward Whymper's (one of the first climbers of the Matterhorn) mountain guides after the first ascent of the Matterhorn in 1897 and 1900.

Interviews with Beat P. Truffer in German:

Zeitungsartikel vom 06.07.2015 über Beat P. Truffer
Wanderleiter-Verband - über Beat P. Truffer

Deutsch Français English

Beat P. Truffer

Diplomierter Wanderleiter, Autor und Ökonom

Beat P. Truffer

Beat P. Truffer wurde am 03.08.1965 geboren und wuchs in Zermatt auf. Er besuchte das Latein-Gymnasium in der Innerschweiz (Sarnen und Beromünster) und schloss sein Ökonomiestudium in deutsch und französisch an der Universität Freiburg (Schweiz) in den Hauptfächern Marketing und Unternehmensführung mit dem Lizentiat ab. Seine berufliche Laufbahn realisierte er bei mehreren Versicherungsgesellschaften in unterschiedlichen Funktionen auf Managementebene, davon 20 Jahre auf Direktionsstufe. Heute ist er als Senior Expert Digitalisation & Transformation, Datenschutzmanager und Pensionskassen-Stiftungsrat tätig.

Beat P. Truffer ist ein erfolgreicher Zermatter Buchautor. Er hat ein Gedichtbüchlein, 5 Bücher über Zermatt (3 geschichtliche, 2 Bildbände) und eine DVD veröffentlicht. Einige seiner Bücher wurden in mehrere Sprachen übersetzt (englisch, französisch, italienisch, spanisch, japanisch, koreanisch). Sein Bestseller-Buch "Die Geschichte des Matterhorns" ist bereits in der 7. (englische Ausgabe) bzw. 6. Auflage (deutsche Ausgabe) erhältlich.

Beat P. Truffer

Beat P. Truffer ist verheiratet und Vater von 2 Töchtern. Er lebt in Adliswil, Susten und Zermatt. Der passionierte Bergsteiger hat 73 verschiedene Viertausender und 2 Fünftausender bestiegen, davon alle Viertausender der Schweiz. Beim Schweizerischen Bergführerverband (SBV) absolvierte er die Ausbildung zum Wanderleiter, die er mit dem eidg. Fachausweis abschloss. Zusätzlich besitzt er die Akkreditierung für T4-Wanderungen (blau-weiss markierte Alpinwanderungen), ist Mitglied der Union of International Mountain Leader Associations (UIMLA), sowie des Schweizerischen Alpenklubs (SAC) und ist Vorstandsmitglied des Schweizer Wanderleiter Verbandes (SWL/ASAM).


Seine Freizeitbeschäftigungen sind Natur, Fotografieren, Mineralogie, Computer, Skifahren, Bergsteigern und Wandern. Sein Urgrossvater Fridolin Kronig (1857 – 1925) war nach der Erstbesteigung des Matterhorns 1897 und 1900 einer der Bergführer von Edward Whymper (einer der Erstbesteiger des Matterhorns).

Interviews mit Beat P. Truffer:

Zeitungsartikel vom 06.07.2015 über Beat P. Truffer
Radio Rottu Oberwallis
Wanderleiter-Verband - über Beat P. Truffer